Wellington District

The Wellington District came into existence in 2004 due to the rationalisation of districts.

It is a combination of the previous Glenorchy and Hobart districts.

The present badge came into being in 1968 when the old Glenorchy - Norfolk District was divided up into Glenorchy, Glenorchy North and Derwent Valley. Within five years the latter two Districts had disappeared and Glenorchy District today covers the same area Glenorchy - Norfolk did 25 years ago.

The upper part of the badge represents the city skyline of Glenorchy. The green area represents the parks of the city. the lower section with the blue "ripples" represents the Derwent River which forms the boundary to the north of the District.

Hobart District, in the Southern Region, covers the centre of the city of Hobart.

From the original Hobart & Clarence District of the '40s & '50s, the metropolitan area was divided into:

  • Wellington in the central city area
  • Nelson covers the suburbs south of Wellington
  • Glenorchy
  • Norfolk covers the suburbs north of Wellington
  • Bowen covering the Eastern Shore.

The Wellington Badge showed the profile of Mt. Wellington. When Nelson District was disbanded in the early 1970s the District name changed to Hobart, but the badge remained rectangular with the mountain profile on it.

This badge, introduced in the 1980s is the only Tasmanian badge that is not rectangular or square. The back right is Mt. Wellington, while the back left is Mt. Nelson with its convict era semaphore station mast. Front right is the Tasman Bridge, linking the District to Clarence.

Key: Joeys (J); Cubs (C); Scouts (S); Venturers (V); and Rovers (R).

Derwent Sea Scouts - J C S V
Domain Slipyard
Queens Domain TAS 7000

Contact: Klaus Felsche
Ph: 0412 100 484

Email: gl.derwent@scoutstas.org.au

Glenorchy - J C S
23 Anfield Street
Glenorchy TAS 7010

Contact: Karen Van Den Bosch
Ph: 0458 473 841

Email: lic.glenorchy@scoutstas.org.au

10th Hobart - C S
Marieville Esplanade
Sandy Bay TAS 7005

Contact: Ben Peelman
Ph: 0413 546 738

Email: gl.hobart10@scoutstas.org.au

Lenah Valley - C S
Currently not meeting.

Contact: David Chalk
Ph: 0427 127 707

Email: gl.lenahvalley@scoutstas.org.au


Mt Stuart - J C S V
Community Hall, Byard Street
Mount Stuart TAS 7000

Contact: Ed Benyon
Ph: 0455 550 319

Email: gl.mtstuartscouts.org

Mt Faulkner - J C S V R
Shoobridge Park, Austins Ferry Road
Austins Ferry TAS 7011

Contact: Matt Smith
Ph: 0419 102 833

Email: agl.mtfaulkner@scoutstas.org.au

Wellington Rover Crew - R
52 King Street
Sandy Bay TAS 7005

Email: wellington@tas.rovers.com.au

View our website

Sandy Bay - J C S V
617 Sandy Bay Road
Sandy Bay TAS 7005

Contact: Mick Mewburn
Ph: 0450 830 053

Email: lic.sandybay@scoutstas.org.au